A national collaboration

Board of Directors

NeSI Board of Directors

White dot (placeholder)
NeSI’s Board of Directors is comprised of an independent Chair, an independent member representing the research sector at large, and three Directors appointed by NeSI’s four collaborator institutions – the University of Auckland, NIWA, Manaaki Whenua - Landcare Research, and the University of Otago. The Board approves major initiatives and investments, and provides oversight on strategy, policy, and organisational development.

In 2018 the NeSI Board was comprised of the following members:

  • Rick Christie, Chair, Independent
  • Dr Fiona Carswell, Chief Scientist, Manaaki Whenua - Landcare Research
  • Dr Murray Poulter, former Chief Scientist, NIWA
  • Prof. Andrew Rohl, Professor of Computational Science, Curtin University, Independent
  • Stephen Whiteside, Chief Digital Officer, University of Auckland
  • Justine Daw, General Manager, Manaaki Whenua - Landcare Research


NeSI Research Reference Group

Research Reference Group

NeSI’s Research Reference Group is made up of nine research community leaders with strong technical knowledge on the impact of eScience as an enabler of research. The group has a key role in providing timely advice and input on strategic and policy matters of interest to NeSI, especially those most relevant to researchers.

  • Dr Joseph Lane, Chair, Associate Professor (Physical & Theoretical Chemistry), University of Waikato
  • Dr Jane Allison, Associate Professor, Biological Sciences, University of Auckland
  • Dr Blair Blakie, Professor, Department of Physics, University of Otago
  • Murray Cadzow, Teaching Fellow and Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Biochemistry, University of Otago
  • Dr Barbara Chapman, Professor, Institute for Computational Science, Stony Brook University
  • Dr Sam Dean, Chief Scientist - Climate, Atmosphere and Hazards, NIWA
  • Dr Ian Foster, Professor, Department of Computer Science, University of Chicago
  • Dr Nauman Maqbool, Group Leader Knowledge & Analytics, AgResearch
  • Dr Cristin Print, Professor, Molecular Medicine & Pathology, University of Auckland




Annual review 2018 menu block